Rambles, rants and raves

A lot of opinions spilling out of my brain

Winter sun

7 Comments

sunshine-blog-award1

Yay!! In the very cold month of December as my journalism course intensifies and I start to forget what the sun looks like, the very talented and extremely funny Gemma has nominated me for a blog award: the Sunshine Award.

I am very, very happy to have received a new award that I can add to my lovely little collection on my sidebar. (I am aware that I use the word ‘very’ too often. But I have been up since 5am and it is now 7pm so my brain is slowly starting to die). It’s always a good feeling to receive a comment or a like, to be nominated for an award is like the icing on a very large cake.

Now because Gemma’s blog has been crazy popular in her absence (you should check it out, best thing you’ll do all day!) with awards being thrown at her from all directions of the blogosphere; this award does not, technically, speaking have any rules. Although I’ll be passing on the love with a few nominations of my own and there is a fun little Q+A that I will be answering, it makes talking about yourself so much easier and a lot less awkward when you have questions to answer.

I have four nominations for this award. So, without further ado (please imagine a throat being cleared and a drum roll, maybe a hushed silence too – the kind you get when something exciting is about to happen) here they are.

Planning for Accidents. I have only been following this blog for a little while but I am completely addicted. Linds has a beautiful, simple way of writing that does a lot to move me. The only way I can think to describe it is when you decide to be silent to hear the roar of the ocean and it is only when you’re quiet that you realise how loud and amazing it is. Linds blog is a little like that.

All mussed up. I nominate this blog a lot. Mainly because it is like hugs for your eyes. The writing is like everyday poetry and the pictures combine to create a warm, fuzzy feeling in the pit of your belly. It is just a happy, calming, interesting blog. I always spend the time needed to read and take in every aspect of the post.

The Log Booker. This blog is more like a journal or a diary than most of the other blogs I have visited, read or followed. It’s a great insight into a cool person’s life. If you read nothing else on Gallifrey’s blog, you should read this post about the methods of going through Freshly Pressed. It was quite interesting to read how somebody else does it.

A Gracious Life. One of the nicest bloggers I have virtually met on WordPress. She usually leaves a comment or starts a discussion on my own posts (which I very much appreciate) and her corner of the world wide web is lovely. A personal but practical look into, what seems to be, a wonderful family.

Last, and probably least, are my questions. It’s a nice change from the facts about yourself, I look forward to reading anyone else’s!

1. What is your favourite 80s film and why?

Who framed Roger Rabbit is probably one of the greatest films ever. Nobody can make me think otherwise. It’s the perfect amount of cartoons and humans, and it’s probably the most fun ever to be had in a film when you get to point out all the characters you know in the end shot when everyone is together.

2. If you could live in any fictional world, which one would it be?

I think I would quite like to live in Lewis Carroll’s Wonderland. It would be a fascinating place to stay for a while, although I do think I would go crazy, but if I’m to go crazy Wonderland would probably be the place to be. Oh actually I change my mind. I would live in Neverland with the boy. Now that is one amazing world! Or maybe Narnia – there are so many!!

Okay, I’ve calmed down. My final answer is Neverland. I think. Maybe Narnia actually.

3. A time machine is invented, but a person can only take one trip. Do you go to the past or the future? Why?

This was hard and I treated it a little as if I was going today and this was actually happening (which made this all take a lot longer to write than I had intended). I’ve decided I would travel to the Renaissance period. I would have to be rich however and my gender could not impede me in anyway. The Renaissance period has always fascinated me, it was like the world waking up again to realise how much there was still to discover. That’s exciting stuff to be able to live through, especially if I already knew the importance of what was going on.

4. How did you come up with the title of your blog?

My blog post for a long time was titled Brown Eyes and Green Bees like my URL. This was mainly because I didn’t actually know what I wanted to write about really and although I set out with the intentions of making this a blog about saving etc. I knew that I wouldn’t keep that up. I changed it to Rambles, Rants and Raves when I realised that’s what I was writing about. Technically the name found me, I can receive no credit for it.

5. What is the most important item on your bucket list?

At the risk of sounding too general it is to travel. I honestly feel that if I don’t explore the world and travel for at least a small portion of my life, then I will not be satisfied. I also want to own a dog. I know that sounds like a very small thing to be on a bucket list but it has to happen. Having it on there just means I’ve promised it to myself.

6. All’s fair in love and war. True or false? 

False. Although the cliche may seem cute I think it’s just an excuse. If all was fair in love and war, there would be hardly any injustice in the world since many things are either born out of love or war.

7. What is your go-to karaoke (or shower) song?

My shower song is completely dependent on my mood. My karaoke song is probably Whitney Houston’s I will always love you. I sing it so badly, I could break glass. It is so bad, that it is in fact, good. But you’ll only be able to take my word for that.

8. Which sense could you live without?

I would say smell. Mainly because off the top of my head, I’m thinking of more bad smells than good. Saying that, my life would be a little sadder not being able to never smell cut grass, the air after rain or my mum’s cooking.

9. Would you rather be loved because you are needed or needed because you are loved?

Easy one for me this one: needed because I am loved.

10. What do you really think of these blogging awards?

I think they’re brilliant. It’s a great way of expanding blogging circles and being told about new blogs, that’s the main reason I like to take part. It is also a massive happiness boost when someone takes the time to tell you, they’ve given you an award. If I can give someone else even a third of the happiness I get from receiving one, then that’s pretty good going.

11. Where were you on your eleventh birthday?

I couldn’t remember but I asked my mum and apparently I was having a birthday party at McDonalds which was amazing. My 11-year-old self was so happy that I, along with my sister and best friend at the time, apparently walked there consistently singing Disney tunes with my mum.

7 thoughts on “Winter sun

  1. Oh wow, I am touched by how you describe my corner. Thank you, thank you. I’ll go check out the blogs featured in this post. Have a great day!

  2. Thank you so, so, so much! I love what the little insight you’ve given into what I write and how I write it – which sounds kinda narcissistic but .. y’know what I mean, right? 🙂 Just feels good that I was/am successful in portraying my blog the way I wanted to. Your words are confirmation of the fact that its hopefully across to others the way I always wanted.
    Will make sure to check out all the other blogs you’ve nominated!
    The post in reply to this will come this weekend, since I’m knee-deep in exams all week.
    Thank you SO MUCH! 😀

    • You are most welcome! I’m glad you liked how I described your blog, I just tried to be honest with all my recommendations and I hope it gets more people reading your blog. I hope you like the other blogs I nominated and I’m looking forward to reading the replying post. Oh and good luck with your exams!

      • I will get to the reply post today! 🙂 Its the weekend again and I have enough time on my hands.
        Definitely will go through the other blogs a bit more closely, although at a glance that day – I really liked them! 😀

  3. DUDE. Thank you for the nomination, what a massive treat to read your kind words! Now I’ve got the warm fuzzies too. (: xx

    • 😀 You are most welcome. Everything I said is true (and thank you for visiting me!) I really do love your blog. It’s like an open log fire. I hope those warm fuzzies helped beat the winter cold! xx

Leave a Reply

